About Us

The International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology (IACCP) was founded in 1972 and has a membership of over 800 persons in more than 65 countries. The aims of the Association are to facilitate communication among persons interested in a diverse range of issues involving the intersection of culture and psychology. IACCP is affiliated with the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS).

Conferences

IACCP holds International Congresses every two years and regional conferences in most years. The next International Congress will be in Olomouc, Czech Republic in 2020.

Publications

We are associated with several publications, including the bimonthly Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology, the online teaching resource Online Readings in Psychology and Culture, and conference proceedings. Membership fees are based on annual gross income.

Awards

The IACCP sponsors the Harry and Pola Triandis Doctoral Thesis Award, given for outstanding dissertations in any area of culture and psychology, and the Early Career Award.

Special Interest Groups

The new 2010 Constitution of IACCP provides for the creation of Special Interest Groups (SIGs). Bylaws for creation and administration of SIGs are found here.

International Education

IACCP Next Generation

Code of Conduct

The new IACCP Code of Conduct is here.

Meeting Minutes

Most of the Executive Council at the Guelph Congress, 2018.

Executive Council

The Executive Council constitutes the governing body of IACCP, and includes officers and regional representatives.  The officers are the board of directors of IACCP, Inc.  Regional representatives are elected to 4-year terms from 10 regions: 1) Europe; (2) North Africa and Middle East; (3) Central and Southern Africa; (4) South Asia; (5) South East Asia; (6) East Asia; (7) Insular Pacific; (8) North America; (9) Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and (10) South America.

Images of some past Executive Councils

Officers

boehnke_200w

Klaus Boehnke
President
2018-2020

Department of Social Sciences and Humanities
Jacobs University, Bremen
Bremen International School of Social Sciences (BIGSSS)
Germany

k.boehnke@jacobs-university.de

vijver_120w

Fons van de Vijver
Past-President
2018-2020

Fons passed away unexpectedly in early June, 2019

Department of Psychology
Tilburg University
Tilburg 5000 LE
Netherlands

ward_210w

Colleen Ward
President-Elect
2018-2020

School of Psychology, Victoria University of Wellington
New Zealand

colleen.ward@vuw.ac.nz

marta1

Márta Fülöp
Secretary-General
2016-2020

Institute for Psychology
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Victor Hugo utca 18-22
Budapest 1132
Hungary

+36-70-313-87
sec-gen@iaccp.org

armon_200w

Brigitte Armon
Treasurer
2017-2020

Cox Communications, Atlanta, Georgia
USA

treasurer@iaccp.org

safdar_200w

Saba Safdar
Deputy Secretary-General
2018-2020

Department of Psychology, Guelph University, Guelph, Ontario
Canada

ssafdar@uoguelph.ca

friedlmeier_120w

Wolfgang Friedlmeier
Chair, Communication and Publications Committee
2018-2022

Grand Valley State University
Michigan, USA

friedlmw@gvsu.edu

Regional Representatives

achoui_moustapha_200w

Moustapha Achoui
MENA Observer
2016-2020

Professor of Psychology and Management
Arab Open University
Kuwait

Mustafait@hotmail.com

minoru_200w

Minoru Karasawa
Regional Representative - East Asia
2016-2020

University, Nagoya
Japan

+81.90.2131.5691
mkarasawa@nagoya-u.jp

Regional Representative - Insular Pacific

This position is currently open

manago_200w

Adriana Manago
Regional Representative - North America
2014-2020

Department of Psychology, University of California-Santa Cruz
USA

amanago@ucsc.edu

natasza_kosakowska-ndscht3zob1aw49p3awl2c4bou2r8t7k7fej88ey5s

Natasza Kossakowska
Regional Representative, Europe
2018-2022

Department of Cross-Cultural and Gender Psychology University of Gdansk, Poland

natasza.kosakowska@ug.edu.pl

matulessy_150w

Andik Matulessy
Regional Representative, Southeast Asia
2018-2022

Faculty of Psychology, Universitas 17 August 1945
Indonesia

andikmatulessy@untag-sby.ac.id

benish_200w

Maya Benish-Weisman
Regional Representative, North Africa and the Middle East
2018-2022

Department of Counseling and Human Development
University of Haifa, Israel

m.benish.weisman@gmail.com

meiring_deon2_120w

Deon Meiring
Central and Southern Africa Regional Rep
2016-2020

Department of Human Resource Management
Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
University of Pretoria Pretoria, South Africa

+27 012 420 3846
meiringd@yebo.co.za, deon.meiring@up.ac.za

chirkov_200w

Valery Chirkov
Regional Representative, North America (Canada)
2018-2022

Department of Psychology, University of Saskatchewan
Canada

v.chirkov@usask.ca

ponizovskiy

Vladimir Ponizovskiy
Student Representative
2018-2020

Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany

vladimir.ponizovsky@gmail.com

rosobal_200w

Mariano Rosabal-Coto
Regional Representative, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
2018-2022

Psychology Faculty, Universidad de Costa Rica
Costa Rica

mrosabal@gmail.com

uskul_200w

Ayse Uskul
2016-2020

Regional Representative - Europe
University of Kent, UKUskul

a.k.uskul@kent.ac.uk

singh_200w

Purnima Singh
Regional Rep - South Asia
2018-2022

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi,Hauz Khas
New Delhi- 110 016
India

+91-11-26591367
purnima125@hotmail.com

zarean_200w

Mostafa Zarean
Special Representative - Early Career
2018-2020

Department of Psychology, Shahid Beheshti University Evin, Velenjak, Tehran Iran

982129903262
mostafazarean85@gmail.com

torres_200w

Claudio Torres
South America Regional Rep
2018-2022

Department of Social and Work Psychology, University of Brasilia
Brazil

claudio.v.torres@gmail.com